A Night Of Hope

Its been a little while since I’ve blogged. I’ve been taking a break from it , partially from writters block and partially from being busy.

I have been a Christian and going to church for 7 yrs now. I had never really been a big fan of the megachurch’s and overall still am not but I have come to really like a few of them, one of which being Joel Osteen.

I have read his devotionals, books as well as watched his broadcasts on tv. I find him easy to listen to and he often has very encouraging messages!

A few months ago I got an email from Joel Osteen Ministries saying he was coming to Toronto at the ACC. I immediatly said to my wife that I had to get tickets for that. My wife doesn’t follow JO as I do but she agreed to go.

Well September 6th rolled around which was the date of the tickets. My wife is a high school teacher and had just finished her first week of teaching and was exhausted. I had been sick all week and was working the Saturday morning but we had the tickets and really wanted to go.

We got in the car and drove to Toronto for the show. Like many church services I have been to that have been in the evening I usually get there feeling exhausted but I leave feeling great! This was no different!

I didn’t know quite what to expect as JO’s tv show is only a half an hour long and they only show his sermon. I found out it was a two and a half hour gig lol!

It didn’t feel like it though. There was great music, members of Joel Osteen’s family were there and they spoke and then Joel gave his message!

Both my wife and I really enjoyed the show. We didn’t agree with everything that was said but the overall message was very good and encouraging. The main theme for his sermon was “Shaking off” negative things from the past and believing in God for a better future!

I particularly liked one thing Joel said which was, “When negative things come to the tv screens of your minds (so to speak), some of you instead of changing the channel, you pull up a chair, make popcorn and keep watching.”

It was a great night and I glad that we went. I bought a resource bag which came with books, cd’s & dvd’s from Joel and his family. I am reading of those books now called You Are Made For More by Lisa Osteen Comes which is very good!

If you have not heard of Joel Osteen before, check him out on youtube or on his website!

Hope everyone is having a great week and have a great weekend!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

