10km Training Week 4: Strength Training

We had a guest speaker this past Tuesday for our in class session at The Running Room. The talk was on the importance of strength training. The speaker was saying how many runners just think they only need to get out there and run but there is more to it then that. Strength training he said will help build endurance and prevent future injuries. Many strength training exercises can be done at home if you do not have a gym such as push ups, dips, and pull ups. The talk reminded me that I haven’t been to the gym in about a month. I have been doing push ups and dips and ab work but I miss my weight workouts. Yesterday I got back to the gym and did 20 minutes on the exercise bike and a half an hour weight workout mostly focusing on chest. Today I got out for a half an hour run, followed by 25 minutes on the exercise bike and then a 40 minute weight workout. I mostly concentrated on legs but did some upper body as well. After tomorrows run I will have clocked 30-35km, not as much as last week but I have had some really good runs this week! I look forward to Tuesday’s run where we will be doing hill training! Hope everyone is have a great weekend! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

