Obstacles

In the past couple of days there has been a fair amount of snow fall. I don’t mind snow but as a runner snow does make my routes rather challenging. I have found the sidewalks a mess not only on my run but on my walk home from work.

I find that you cannot let bad weather stop you from going out. As I have heard it said, “if you wait for perfect weather, you will never run!”- John Stanton. This is my first year for winter running and I’m loving it.

I decided to start running in the winter when I signed up for Tough Mudder. My TM event is in September so I have a few months to prepare. I have been running 30-36km a week and in my 10km training program at The Running Room, my instructor said I should try for 55km per week since I’m doing long distances most of the time. I still have to check out that training schedule on their website. Tonight I ran for an hour and just over 10km. I have to say that the sidewalks were kicking my ass tonight! I took Wednsday night off this week and have clocked 26km so far.

I hope that the sidewalks will be more cleared tomorrow or at least in the next couple of days. My run tonight was really good despite the messy sidewalks! I am hoping to get out for another 10km tomorrow after work as well as a weight workout at the gym. I have been slacking in my weight workouts and need to remember to work those into my schedule somehow as well as the running!

Hope everyone has had a great week, I for one am glad that its Friday tomorrow! Cheers!

Leave a comment