Oven-Roasted Salmon

One of the things that I want to get better at in the new year is cooking! Two weeks ago I made a shrimp stir-fry and today I prepared Salmon with rice and veggies! A very simple recipe from my Starting Out cook book which my wife bought me on our first Christmas together! I figured I would start with the simple recipes first and work my way from there to the more complicated. All in all it turned out pretty well and here is the recipe!

Method:

1) Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F (230 degrees C). Line a baking sheet or shallow baking dish with foil.

2) Place the salmon fillets or steaks skin side down on the prepared baking sheet. Stir together the sauce ingredients of your choice and spoon or rub the mixture over the salmon.

3) Bake for 11-12 minutes (about 10 minutes per inch), until the fish flakes with a fork. Use a think spatula to remove the fish from the pan, and try to leave the skin behind on the foil. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

Honey Mustard Sauce:

2Tbsp (30mL) honey

1Tbsp (15mL) Dijon mustard

Grated zest of half a lime or 1 tsp (5mL) chopped fresh thyme

There are other sauces to choose from but the Honey-Mustard sauce was what I used.

Hope everyone had a great Monday! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

