Weekly Writting Challenge: I Wish I Were

I wish I were an amazing guitar player! Don’t get me wrong, I do play the guitar and I am happy where my skill level is at present. I’ve been playing guitar and taking guitar lessons on and off for ten years or so. I’ve heard it said that it takes 10, 000 hours of practice to become a professional at something. I think that is the line. It has only been in the past two or three years that I have started practicing more and taking my learning of the guitar more seriously. I mean, back in about 2002 or 2003 I took lessons from Glen Drover who as some of you may know went on to play for Megadeth for a few years. He is a great guy and is an awesome guitar player and is known for his guitar solos! I do know more chords now and I can play many songs as well as sing when I play so I am happy about how far I’ve come. I also know that until about two or three years ago I barely practiced. Most of the time I just went to my lessons figured out some riffs or chords or songs there and then my guitar would sit in the closet untill the next lesson. I am aware of how good I could be if I did practice the way I should have. Well I cannot change the past though I can work on the present and do better at working guitar practice into each day. Even if it’s just 10-15 minutes that is still better than what I was doing years ago. I have played some open mic gigs which I think are great incentives to practice, if nothing else just not to looks foolish in front of my audience lol! My second open mic night was just like that. I was not prepared. I picked a bunch of new songs which I wasn’t too familiar with and let me just say it was the longest 20 minutes of my life. But I survived and have played in front of people since then and have learned from my mistakes.

Well that is about it for this challenge. Speaking of which, I will try to get at least a half an hour of guitar practice in tonight! Hope everyone is well and all the best in your blogs and to those participating in this challenge!

Cheers!

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/29/weekly-writing-challenge-i-wish-i-were/

5 thoughts on “Weekly Writting Challenge: I Wish I Were

      1. 🙂

        It is a great feeling to hear yourself playing the whole piece after practicing it for weeks. Just learned a song, and now striving for another one.

        Keep rocking!

Leave a Reply

